Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
Quick Note 20

2004-08-13 - 9:35 a.m.

So today I get to take the test I thought I'd never have to take again after the age of 15. I mean, of course, the written driving test. This one is for the state of California, which is not that different from the state of Texas. Funnily enough, it helps that I remember the driving lessons from the movie Clueless.

More important, however, is common sense. While there are always some esoteric questions designed to lower the average, most can be easily determined if you have a basic grasp of logic. For example, realizing that the phrase "speed limit" doesn't so much imply as declare that going faster is illegal, and realizing the tricks behind words like "always," "may," "must," and "can."

I've been taking the practice tests, and so far this is my favorite question:

4. If you drive faster than other vehicles on a road with one lane in each direction and continually pass the other cars, you will:

a) Get you to your destination much faster and safer.

b) Increase your chances of an accident.

c) Help prevent traffic congestion.

I really want to meet the person who answers that wrong. I may already have.

Anyway, wish me luck! Hopefully, I'll soon be on my way to being a California resident (knock on wood).

0 comments so far

previous - next

The End - 2005-02-11
Let's Go on With the Show - 2005-01-30
The Curse, and This Bee's a Keeper - 2005-02-01
Sisters Lolita and Matronic Explain It All for You - 2005-01-31
Cowboys and Medievalists - 2005-01-30

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!