Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
The Year to Charge Laughing

2004-01-09 - 8:21 a.m.

As of 12:01pm this Sunday, I will officially be closer to 30 than I am to 18. Age and infirmity beckon like like a cheap date at last call. I have no idea what I want to do on my birthday. Sleep is sounding pretty hot, though. Except, of course, one of my New Year's Resolutions was to sleep less and use that time to read, write, dance, etc.

I'm so far keeping the resolution to dance more, actually. I went dancing at a fabulous gay club the other night (and managed to not run into any old friends who I haven't spoken to in years, on purpose) and went out to see DJ Maseo from De La Soul last night. Unfortunately, sleep's pull was very strong so I headed out at 1am. I think that if I hadn't overslept and been late for work already this week, I might have stayed longer, but I didn't want to wake up at 9am with an "Oh CRAP!" today.

In other New Year's News, there's this New Year's Survey thingummie that's been floating around Diaryland, and far be it from me to break the chain. Also, my creativity seems to be shot to Hell, and that irony entry is going to take a while, let me tell you. So, here goes the Survey:

1. What did you do in 2003 that you had never done before?

Bunch o'stuff. I went to a peace rally. I helped plan a peace rally. I held down a job. I got paid to direct a theatre piece. I saw a whole bunch of peeps in concert. I consumed something that shall remain nameless on the grounds that it may incriminate me, but let me just say that I understand Alice in Wonderland a whole lot better now.

2. Did you keep your New Year's Resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I can't remember that far. Actually, that's a lie, the New Year's Resolution was to write more, and I started this diary, so YES! And I already made my resolutions for this year.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

My half-sister gave birth to a little girl, Kristen. Also, my office buddy, Trish the Dish, gave birth to a girl, Mia. Actually, Trish the Dish got an infection and a half after the birth, and I was all worried, enough to write the one and only diary entry that's hidden from public eye. But now all is well, and Trish and I are back to boozin' it up. Also, she's a really cool mom, because she makes fun of her baby so that no one feels like they have to go into "Around Children" mode. I need to call her today, so she can do shots with me on my birthday, or something.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

I guess since I can't remember, the answer's no. I'd like that to be a trend.

5. What countries did you visit?

Oh. My. GODFREY I forgot to talk about the visit to Paris, didn't I? I am the worst diarist ever. I'll get to that next week. But anyway, France to see Nela Bella, whom I didn't realize I was missing like crazy until I spent a few hours with her, and then I didn't quite get how I'd lasted so long, and Mexico for my cousin's big fat Mexican wedding. Dude, it was the shit. We danced for five hours and ate like it was going out of style.

6. What would you like to have in 2004 that you lacked in 2003?

A plan, a graduate program, grant money, more free time, and more sex.

7. What date(s) will be etched in your memory from 2003 and why?

April 25th: Tori Amos grabs my hands after playing "Spark" and thanks me for being a peace activist. I proceed to faint.

May 5th: Showdown in Texas Peace Rally

June 9th: My first professional show premieres to rave reviews, baby!

Sept 19th-21st: The Saint and I get our rock on for Austin City Limits.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Becoming a professional director with an experimental production. I got paid for doing what I love to do. I didn't think that would ever happen.

9. What was your biggest failure?

I gotta go way back and say not sticking it out in DC. I don't regret it, because Austin brought so much good stuff, but it was nevertheless a failure.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Knocking on any wood I can find, no.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

This is starting to get repetitive, but the front row Tori tickets and the plane tickets to Paris.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

That is a really weird statement right there, but I guess I'll go with my actors at the Rhizome from going from totally inexperienced to ass-kicking in a month or so.

13 Whose behavior made you appalled or depressed?

The same people, with a couple of notable exceptions, for being LATE ALL THE TIME. The revolution's greatest hinderance is not the opposition and tyranny of the evil men, but the fact that the good people can never get anywhere ON TIME!!! Also on this list are just about every politician in DC for being either shameless or spineless. Gebhardt, in a remarkable achievement, was both. And I feel bad saying it, because my mom knows the guy and likes him, I think, but come on. Even she's gotta acknowledge that a broken toaster would have been a more effectual leader.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Food, travel, and concerts. In about that order. Oh, and eBay. To the point where I now think of one of the main CD resellers as my dealer.

15. What did you get really, really excited about in chronological order?

Oh, too many things. Concerts, rallies, shows, trips.

16. What songs will always remind you of 2003? Okay, this goes to show you how little I listen to radio, because so few of these songs actually came out this year. First of all, anything Ginger Leigh, Hedda Layne, Ruthie FOster, or Patrice Pike sang, which is A LOT of songs. "Vincent" by Don McLean, because Tori sang it in Austin and then Clay Aiken butchered in on American Idol a couple of nights later. Anything off Evolve by Ani DiFranco, Erykah Badu's Worldwide Underground EP, Elephant by The White Stripes, the Kill Bill soundtrack. I could go on for days . . .

17. Compared to this time last year, are you . . .

Happier or sadder: Happier

Thinner of fatter: A bit thinner

Richer or poorer: Richer in that i have money I earned for the first time ever, poorer in that I am no longer living off my parents.

18. What do you wish you'd done more of?

Writing, writing, and writing. Also reading and dancing.

19. What do you wish you'd done less of?

Procrastinating.

20. How will you be spending Christmas?

Spent it with family.

22. Did you fall in love in 2003?

Okay, what happened to 21? And I did fall in love: with tofu. For the longest time I thought tofu was too soft and bland for me, but he proved just how exciting he could be. Now I'm with tofu almost every day. I think this might be serious . . .

23. How many one night stand?

Shut up shut up shut up ONE AND IT SUCKED, OKAY?! Samantha Jones has left the building.

24. What was your favorite TV program?

Favorite new program is a tie between Queer Eye and Jake 2.0. Sadly, both shows feature an unattainable man whom I desperatley want, because one is straight and the other is in a long-term relationship. DAMN! Returning favorite was definitely The Amazing Race.

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?

Yes, and they are all politicians.

26. What was the best book you read?

You know, I didn't have time for many great books this year. THAT is sad. I am reading the astounding Love in the Time of Cholera right now, though. I guess I'd have to go with either Monstrous Regiment by Terry Pratchett or Farewell My Concubine by Lillian Lee.

27. What were your greatest musical discoveries?

I could take this very literally and say Avenue Q, because it is the best musicAL since Hedwig and the Angry Inch and joins Hediwg on my list of favorite musicals ever, along with Once on This Island and Into the Woods. However, I'd be selling short my favorite new musicIAN Ginger Leigh (www.gleigh.com), who is now rockin' the Dolomites. Not only is she amazing (my favorite song of hers, "Walk On," is one of my favorite love songs ever) but she introduced me to other great singers like Hedda Layne and Patrice Pike, and when I say introduced I mean, "Hey, Hedda and Patrice, this is my friend Rudy." I also gotta give a shoutout to Dan Fishback and band, Cheese on Bread (www.cheeseonbread.com). He is irreverant and brilliant. As for singers whose CDs are available nationally, the obvious choice is The Polyphonic Spree. Actually, don't buy their CD until you hear them live. Their CD is much more chill and ambient than their live show, which is exuberant and fabulicious.

28. What did you want and get?

A job. Actually, two jobs.

30. What was your favorite film of the year?

Okay, in many ways this is the question that prompted doing this survey, because I think I might be the ONLY person so far who has not said Return of the King. Not that I didn't love the movie. Love the movie, love the trilogy. But I loved Two Towers more, and I loved other movies more this year. It's a toss up between Whale Rider (which is on DVD, so go see it now) and In America (which is in theaters, go see it now). Further shout outs to Lost in Translation, Kill Bill, Bend It Like Beckham, Pirates of the Carribean, X2, and Finding Nemo. Also, Cold Mountain kinda sucked, so don't see it. It was disappointing, because I love me some English Patient and it's the same writer/director. But you can't win 'em all, I guess.

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I turned 23 and spend the evening getting drunk and playing Cranium with two of my best friends, my favorite bartender and his lovely girlfriend, and a psycho girl. As great as the party was, the sobering up left a dark shadow on the whole experience. Don't ask, seriously.

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

If I'd written something and got it published to something other than this diary.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept of 2003?

Um, "Whatever?"

34. What kept you sane?

This diary, my music, and all my friends especially Theresa.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Apparently, this originated in England, and speaking of which Orlando Bloom. Orlando Bloom, Orlando Bloom, Orlando Bloom. What kind of name IS that, anyway?

36. What politicial issue stirred you the most?

Um, there WAS a war. Anyone else notice?

37. Who did you miss?

Everyone in the Northeast. Like crazy. And, as much as it pains me to admit this, the person who ditched me last year. I think the worst part about getting ditched is that there are moment when you're like, "Wow, SoandSo would get a huge kick out of this" and you want to call that person, but you can't.

38. Who was the best new person you met?

Theresa, who went from acquaintance to best friend in a couple of weeks. She's opened a lot of doors for me, and made me question a lot of things. She's a Hell of a lot smarter than she thinks she is, and she could have everyone we both know wrapped around her finger if she wanted. I wouldn't have handled this year without her.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2003?

Okay, so you know that thing you promised yourself you'd never do, like ever. Well, as long as it's not going to hurt anybody, do it. You have no idea what you're going to find on the other end.

40. Quote song lyric that sums up your year.

As much as "These Are Days" by 10,00 Maniacs seems appropriate, as well as a few lines from "Pretty Good Year" or "Evolve," I gotta go with Ginger, once again:

People of the world lay flat on your back. Take the blows, spit it out and simply relax, because life's like this and I laugh maniacally. I know I come across sarcastically, but this is what connects you to me: it's my tone that you don't know if you should take seriously. But with all that is shining and all that is blinding

I whisper to the wind to carry my winding through this maniac life that I leave behind me.

I charge laughing.

4 comments so far

previous - next

The End - 2005-02-11
Let's Go on With the Show - 2005-01-30
The Curse, and This Bee's a Keeper - 2005-02-01
Sisters Lolita and Matronic Explain It All for You - 2005-01-31
Cowboys and Medievalists - 2005-01-30

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!